Weekend Classics

History of Mel Brooks: Part I

History of Mel Brooks: Part I

Friday, April 26 - Sunday, July 21, 2013

Email   Bookmark and Share

A tribute to the silver screen work of the legendary Oscar, Emmy, Tony and Grammy Award-winning writer, director and performer Mel Brooks, the recipient of this year’s AFI Lifetime Achievement Award. Rediscover these comedy classics on the big screen!

“There are some people who can literally get away with anything — say anything, do anything — and people will let them. Other people attempt a mildly dirty joke and bring total silence down on a party. Mel Brooks is not only a member of the first group, he is its lifetime president. At its best, his comedy operates in areas so far removed from taste that (to coin his own expression) it rises below vulgarity.” – Roger Ebert


The Producers

The Producers

Friday, April 26 - Sunday, April 28, 2013
35mm print "Brooks' first feature, an absolutely hilarious and tasteless New York Jewish comedy about Broadway. Zero Mostel plays a producer determined to clean up by staging the worst... more...



Life Stinks

Life Stinks

Friday, May 3 - Sunday, May 5, 2013
35mm print "A fable of a rich urban developer who finds himself on the streets, in the ghetto, wondering where his next meal is coming from... Brooks plays the rich man himself. His... more...



Robin Hood: Men in Tights

Robin Hood: Men in Tights

Friday, May 10 - Sunday, May 12, 2013
35mm print "As would be expected, the legend of Robin of Loxley, portrayed here by Cary Elwes, is given the old vaudevillian once-over by Brooks, beginning with a quintet of rapping... more...



Spaceballs

Spaceballs

Friday, May 17 - Sunday, May 19, 2013
DCP projection "Brooks' Star Wars spoof employs the familiar scattergun approach, featuring gags old and new, something borrowed and something blue... The story is a chip off... more...



Blazing Saddles

Blazing Saddles

Friday, May 24 - Monday, May 27, 2013
35mm print "A crazed grabbag of a movie that does everything to keep us laughing except hit us over the head with a rubber chicken. Mostly, it succeeds. It's an audience picture; it doesn't... more...



Dracula: Dead and Loving It

Dracula: Dead and Loving It

Friday, May 31 - Sunday, June 2, 2013
35mm print "The title DRACULA: DEAD AND LOVING IT is so perfect that it's almost a good-will ambassador for Mel Brooks's slight but amusing new parody. Mr. Brooks may no longer be at... more...



The Twelve Chairs

The Twelve Chairs

Friday, June 7 - Sunday, June 9, 2013
High-definition digital projection "Gambolling about the Balkans is the theme of Mel Brooks' second feature, with comic Moody and personable Langella chasing the one chair out of a... more...



Silent Movie

Silent Movie

Friday, June 14 - Sunday, June 16, 2013
35mm print "Mel Brooks will do anything for a laugh. Anything. He has no shame. He's an anarchist; his movies inhabit a universe in which everything is possible and the outrageous is... more...



To Be or Not to Be

To Be or Not to Be

Friday, June 21 - Sunday, June 23, 2013
35mm print "Smashingly funny... so good in its own right, in the way it preserves and revives the wonderfully farcical situations of the original Edwin Justus Mayer screenplay, that... more...



Young Frankenstein

Young Frankenstein

Wednesday, July 3 - Sunday, July 7, 2013
DCP projection "Director Mel Brooks is home with YOUNG FRANKENSTEIN, his most disciplined and visually inventive film (it also happens to be very funny). Victor is a professor in a... more...



High Anxiety

High Anxiety

Friday, July 12 - Sunday, July 14, 2013
Archival 35mm print "HIGH ANXIETY is a straight Hitchcockian sendup... Besides playing the role of a Harvard professor and psychiatrist with a fear of heights who takes over the Psycho-Neurotic... more...



The Elephant Man

The Elephant Man

Friday, July 19 - Sunday, July 21, 2013
DCP projection -- produced by Mel Brooks's Brooksfilms! "THE ELEPHANT MAN has much the same limpidly moving humanism as Truffaut's L'Enfant Sauvage in describing how the unfortunate... more...





Advertisement
AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International

Copyright © 2014 IFC Center LLC. All rights reserved.