Studio Ghibli / GKIDS

Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind

Friday, December 1 - Thursday, January 11, 2018

Showtimes

Screening in a 35mm print Tue Dec 12 at 7:50, Wed Jan 10 at 6:45 | all other shows DCP projection

Click on a showtime below to purchase tickets

Mon Dec 11: 10:30 am | 9:40 pm 

Tue Dec 12: 12:55 pm | 7:50 pm 

Wed Dec 13: 12:55 pm | 10:00 pm 

Thu Dec 14: 10:30 am | 5:05 pm 

Fri Dec 22: 12:20 pm | 9:50 pm 

Sat Dec 23: 3:35 pm 

Sun Dec 24: 10:30 am 

Mon Dec 25: 12:20 pm | 7:10 pm 

Wed Dec 27: 12:20 pm 

Thu Dec 28: 10:30 am | 2:25 pm 

Fri Dec 29: 12:20 pm | 7:15 pm 

Sat Dec 30: 2:50 pm | 7:20 pm 

Sun Dec 31: 10:30 am 

Mon Jan 1: 2:55 pm | 9:55 pm 

Tue Jan 2: 10:30 am 

Wed Jan 3: 2:55 pm 

The Jan 4: 5:20 pm | 9:40 pm 

Wed Jan 10:  6:45 pm 

The debut film from Hayao Miyazaki, NAUSICAA is considered by many to be his masterwork — and there are few films, animated or otherwise, of such sweeping scope and grandeur. Set in a devastated future world decimated by atmospheric poisons and swarming with gigantic insects, NAUSICAA is the story of a young princess, both brave and innocent, whose love for all living things and passionate determination to understand the processes of nature lead her into terrible danger, sacrifice, and eventual triumph.

Like most Studio Ghibli films, there is neither good nor evil, but conflicting viewpoints, weaknesses, and power struggles. Throughout the film, Miyazaki’s animation is awe-inspiring; the depiction of the poisoned forest in particular is a thing of transcendent beauty. Once the hallucinogenic strangeness of shape and color has been accepted, there is light, growth and life everywhere. Huge dragonfly-like creatures are accompanied by wonderful, evocative sounds of flight and movement. The lethal fungus plants glow, shimmer and shed spores like silent gleaming snowfalls. This is a film not to be missed.

Part of the Waverly Midnights series “The Future Is Female” and The Complete Studio Ghibli series.

For all showtimes 6:00pm and later, the film will be shown in Japanese with English subtitles. Morning and afternoon screenings will be screened in the English language version.

IFC Center’s “The Complete Studio Ghibli” 2017 flyer – Schedule by DATE

IFC Center’s “The Complete Studio Ghibli” 2017 flyer – Schedule by TITLE

  • Country Japan
  • Year 1984
  • Running Time 116 minutes
  • Director Hayao Miyazaki